Basics: Where does one start?

Few months back someone tested my knowledge in basics… I was keep on talking about my research field in particular and solid state physics in general… and then came questions on some basic stuff…

I was a difficult moment as i struggled to answer few of those really basic questions… That day i decided, it’s time to go back to basics…
But where should i start?
 
I started on some of the university Physics books… These days you can get all those bulky ones downloaded… Started with Crowell’s Conceptual Physics, Young and Freedman’s University Physics with Modern Physics… and Halliday’s Fundamentals of Physics… and few others in the queue… and ofcourse Feyman’s lectures to read when bored of the other books…
 
It felt so good to get the concepts refreshed in your brain… i admit i had forgotten many of the laws and equations… So, i had advised many of my colleagues and collaborators about the mentioned list of books if they lose track of basics… 
 
But recently, I had experienced a problem of different kind… I was preparing myself for entering into the K12 education industry… I was always fascinated by them as they come up with a variety of learning aids every year for science… It needs a lot of creativity and i was eager to jump into that and learn few techniques…
 
I was going through some high school level science books… The books i read had few mistakes, but it surprised me with the amount of information it provided… I don’t remember how i passed my high school science… but the books i read blew me away; it made me dig deeper for more basics… I could refresh my knowledge in other areas of science and how they are all related… I surprised myself by taking short notes… I feel so excited right now… I have listed down a few more basic books to read for the next few weeks; few high school books included with numerous other college level books… 
 
Usually after post doc experience, many researchers and academicians go and settled down in teaching… But unlike them i chose to stay away from it… that caused a decline in my understanding of basics because i never get to teach anyone… Getting a PhD doesn’t mean you have learned everything… If you don’t use (share/teach) what you have learned over years, there is a possibility you tend to forget things…. So, i have to occasionally go back to books, and from now on, i have decided never stop learning; probably something new every single day… 
 
And my advice to everyone: Find yourself weak in basics? Go back to school… It might be an embarrassing story for some to tell… but its worth it… 
 
Now, I can wait for my new role… Educationist!!! Sounds so exciting…. 
One thought on “Basics: Where does one start?

Leave a Reply

